

#### CONTACT:

Gretchen Cermak, Marketing & Communications Director 330-595-5540; gc@rubber.org

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

# RUBBER DIVISION, ACS ANNOUNCES 2023 SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY AWARD WINNERS

**AKRON – November 10, 2023 – Rubber Division, American Chemical Society**, 306 N. Cleveland Massillon Rd., Akron, OH, announced the 2023 winners of seven distinguished industry awards. Winners will accept these awards and be celebrated at a banquet on April 26, 2023 during the Rubber Division, ACS Spring Technical Meeting in Warrensville Heights, OH. Each Science & Technology Award Winner will also give a presentation in the technical session following the banquet.

## Charles Goodyear Medal - Dr. Chris Macosko

Dr. Chris Macosko was named the 2023 Charles Goodyear Medalist. The most prestigious award given by Rubber Division, ACS was established in 1941 to perpetuate the memory of Charles Goodyear as the discoverer of the vulcanization of rubber. It honors individuals for outstanding invention, innovation or development which has resulted in a significant change or contribution to the nature of the rubber industry. This award is supported solely by Rubber Division, ACS.

### Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award - Dr. Anke Blume

Dr. Anke Blume was selected for the 2023 Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award, sponsored by Lion Elastomers. This award was established in 1983 to perpetuate the memory of Melvin Mooney, the developer of the Mooney Viscometer and other testing equipment, and honors individuals who have exhibited exceptional technical competency by making significant and repeated contributions to rubber science and technology.

# George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research - Dr. Li Jia

Dr. Li Jia was named the winner of the 2023 George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research, sponsored by Cabot Corporation. This award was established in 1986 as a part of the Rubber Division's continuing effort to honor teachers and academic scientists for distinguished, innovative and inspirational teaching and research in chemistry and polymer science. This award perpetuates the memory of George S. Whitby, head of the rubber laboratory at The University of Akron and for years the only one who taught rubber chemistry in the USA. It honors outstanding international teachers of chemistry and polymer science and recognizes innovative research.

## Sparks-Thomas Award - Dr. Lewis Tunnicliffe

Dr. Lewis Tunnicliffe was chosen for the 2023 Sparks-Thomas Award, sponsored by Endurica, LLC. This award was established in 1986 to perpetuate the memory of William J. Sparks and Robert M. Thomas, chemists who developed butyl rubber. It recognizes and encourages outstanding scientific contributions and innovations in the field of elastomers by younger scientists, technologists and engineers. Recognition is also given to originality and independence of thought, and to the technological impact of the nominee's contribution.

## Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award – Dr. Glen Fredrickson

Dr. Glen Fredrickson was selected for the 2023 Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award, sponsored by the Renkert Oil, LLC. This award was established in 1991 as a part of the Rubber Division's continuing effort to recognize the contributions of scientists in the field of thermoplastic elastomers. Particular emphasis is placed on innovations that have yielded significant new commercial or patentable materials.

### Fernley H. Banbury Award – John Putman

John Putman is the winner of the 2023 Fernley H. Banbury Award, sponsored by ACE Laboratories. It perpetuates the memory of Fernley H. Banbury, the inventor and developer of the internal mixer that bears his name, and honors innovations of production equipment, instrumentation, control systems or developed improved processing technologies widely used in the manufacture of rubber or rubber-like articles of importance. This award was established by Rubber Division, ACS in 1986.

#### Bioelastomer Award – Dr. Arthur Coury

Dr. Arthur Coury was selected for the Bioelastomer Award, sponsored by Cancarb. This award honors significant contributions to the advancement of biomaterials in the field of rubber science and technology. It was established in 2018 by Rubber Division, ACS as a part of its effort to recognize the contributions of scientists in the field of biotechnology and biomaterials as these relate to the advancement of biomaterials elastomers and rubbery materials.

## **About Rubber Division, ACS**

**Rubber Division, ACS**, based in Akron, OH, is an international association of chemists, engineers, technicians, scientists, plant managers, sales and marketing professionals and others in the rubber, polymer or related fields within industry, academia and government. We work to educate, connect and grow the evolving elastomer industry through educational, technical, business and networking activities. Visit www.rubber.org for more information.